Exhibitions and events, Allgemein

Exhibition in Brunswick State Museum

Vitrinen / Ausstellung

From January 16th to June 30th 2018, the Brunswick State Museum (Braunschweigische Landesmuseum) is showing the touring exhibition »HEIMATSUCHER. Survival stories of the Holocaust for a world without racism « from HEIMATSUCHER e.V.

On the basis of twelve contemporary witness portraits, the exhibition tells stories about life before, during and after the Holocaust and encourages visitors to dive deeper into the history of the Nazi regime- and to fight racism today. The exhibition is aimed primarily at students from the 4th grade upwards, who get to know the survivers’ stories and become witnesses of the contemporary witnesses themselves.

In letters to the survivors, the visitors can express their feelings that the exhibition triggered. The letters are collected and sent to the portrayed survivors.

The travelling exhibition is integrated into the previous presentation of the Brunswick State Museum to the 1950s and 1960s in Germany and thus forms the contrast to the then mood of reconstruction and economic boom, which prevailed in the first decades after the war.

Where?

Brunswick State Museum (Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum), Burgplatz 1, 38100 Brunswick (Braunschweig)
(16 January 2018 to 30 June 2018)

Opening hours | entrance fees

Tuesday to Sunday 10am – 5pm
Adults 4 €, student 3 €, children (6-17 years) 2 €

Press

Press inquiries to Christina Walther presse@heimatsucher.de
Enclosed the press release of the Braunschweigischen Landesmuseums

Allgemein, Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen

Ausstellung im Braunschweigischen Landesmuseum

Vitrinen / Ausstellung

In der Zeit vom 16. Januar bis zum 30. Juni 2018 zeigt das Braunschweigische Landesmuseum die Wanderausstellung »HEIMATSUCHER. Überlebensgeschichten des Holocausts für eine Welt ohne Rassismus« des Vereins Heimatsucher e.V.

Die Ausstellung erzählt anhand von zwölf Zeitzeugenportraits Geschichten über das Leben vor, während und nach dem Holocaust und möchte Besucherinnen und Besucher dazu ermutigen sich vertieft mit der Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus auseinander – und aktiv gegen Rassismus im Heute einzusetzen. Dabei richtet sich die Ausstellung vor allem an Schülerinnen und Schüler ab der 4. Jahrgangsstufe, die die Überlebensgeschichten kennenlernen und dabei selbst zu Zeugen der Zeitzeugen werden: zu »Zweitzeugen«.

In Briefen an die Überlebenden können die Besucherinnen und Besucher ihren Gefühlen Ausdruck verleihen, die die Ausstellung angestoßen hat. Die Briefe werden gesammelt und den portraitierten Überlebenden geschickt.

Die Wanderausstellung ist in die bisherige Präsentation zu den 1950er und 1960er Jahren in Deutschland integriert und bildet so den Kontrast zu der damaligen Stimmung von Wiederaufbau und Wirtschaftsboom, die in den ersten Jahrzehnten nach Kriegsende herrschte.

Ort

Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum, Burgplatz 1, 38100 Braunschweig
(16. Januar 2018 bis 30. Juni 2018)

Öffnungszeiten | Eintrittspreise

Dienstag bis Sonntag 10 – 17 Uhr
Erwachsene 4 €, ermäßigt 3 €, Kinder (6-17 Jahre) 2 €

Presse

Presseanfragen bitte an Christina Walther presse@heimatsucher.de
Anbei die Pressemitteilung des Braunschweigischen Landesmuseums